Provincial Executive Council

The Provincial Executive Council (PEC) is responsible for making good policy decisions and further ensuring these are implemented through budgetary allocations. The policy formulation process is facilitated and strengthened by the Provincial Management Team (PMT) on all policy and technical matters through the office of the provincial administrator.

To further enhance the policy development and implementation process, constant and improved work relations between the PMT and the Enga Provincial Government are very important.

The PEC is comprised of the Governor and Chairmen of various portfolios. The Chairmen are equivalent to that of the “Provincial Ministers” and they are the cabinet. Its function is to make policies and decisions for good governance in the province.

The Provincial Administration is headed by the Provincial Administrator. He/She is appointed by the National Executive Council (NEC) upon a short list and recommendation from the Provincial Executive Council (PEC).

The Provincial Administrator is the Chief Accounting Officer and is vested with sufficient administrative powers to effectively administer the affairs of the province.

Two levels of Government. The first is the Provincial Government headed by a Governor who is the Regional member. The second is the Local level Governments headed by the Presidents who automatically are members of the Provincial Assembly out of which some get appointed to be members of the Provincial Executive Council (PEC) by the Governor who is the Chairman.

In the past few decades, the Provincial Government system has gone through a number of reforms with changes adapted in order to improve service delivery in the country. The reforms were effected to find the best means to provide an effective delivery system and at the same time put in place a system for the people to elect leaders for an effective system of Government.

The Provincial Executive Council (PEC) used to be appointed by the Premier of the Province then in accordance with the Organic Law on the Provincial and Local Level Government which is still the same now except that the Political head of the Provincial Government is now the Governor. The leaders who are elected to these Local Level Governments always have outstanding qualities, charisma and are able to perform and deliver services despite budget constraints.

The province has progressed very well in the last 21 years with a good stable Provincial Government and similarly   the Local Level Governments.

Profile of the EPG and PEC Membership

The seven elected members of the National Parliament are automatic members of the Provincial Assembly.

| National Parliament

1)   Regional Member for Enga & Governor
2)   Member for Wabag Open Electorate
3)   Member for Kompiam
4)   Member for Lagaip

5)   Member for Kandep
6)   Member for Wapenamanda
7)  Member for Porgera

1. MP -Governor & Chairman of PEC/Assembly,
Education & National Functions

2. Deputy Governor & Chairman of LLG,
District Development and Law & Order

3. Chairman of Finance, Public Service & Planning

4. Chairman of Works & Transport

5. Chairman of Health


6. Chairman for Mining, Envir. & Conservation

7. Chairman for Natural Resources

8. Chairman of Lands & Housing

9.  Chairman of JP&BPC, Liquor Licensing,
Culture & Tourism

Twenty-five years of stable leadership and consistent administrative machinery have resulted in EPG attracting more foreign government and NGO donor agencies to invest in all sectors in the province. ’This has been our strength and a Key strategy for addressing our development agendas.

Chief Sir Peter Ipatas,GCL,KBE,MP
Governor, Enga Province